The Blue Period

November 26, 2009 at 3:14 pm Leave a comment

In an attempt to educate myself more on Bipolar Disorder and clinical depression in general, I came across Pablo Picassos The Blue Period (Periodo Azul), a stage in Picasso’s life when he painted monochromatic pictures in shades of blue. Periodo Azul was triggered by a tragedy in Picasso’s life in 1901 when his friend, a certain Carlos Casegmas, succumbed to suicide.

The Old Guitarist by Pablo Picasso

The Old Guitarist by Pablo Picasso

The above Picasso painting from his Periodo Azul collection is entitled The Old Guitarist. Stimpy had this on his wall in his Raleigh bungalow and upon seeing it on a postcard photograph he sent me for Christmas I thought, “Strange. How can one put up a picture of a pneumonic man on his wall?” I should have deemed this a red flag and read between the lines before I agreed on co-habitating with his pathetic ass.

I have been meaning to create a prose centered on Bipolar Disorder. My depression was diagnosed by my psychiatrist, Dr. Randy Dellosa, as Manic Depression. When the diagnosis was made, just like a cancer patient being introduced for the first time to his malignant, devil of a tumor, I thought to myself: I now know the enemy by its face.

I am thankful for my disorder. It provides me a life of battle worth living.

♥ ♥ ♥

I am still overwhelmingly disgusted over the Maguindanao Massacre. For the first time in years, I am wearing my black clothing today with a purpose.

I have faith in the words of an unknown philosopher: There is a reason and there is a meaning. You will know in time but time itself chooses its moment.

♥ ♥ ♥

Listening to I’m Only Happy When It Rains by Garbage ♫ ♫

Entry filed under: artnots, journals, musings.

My body, the journal The Dharma Bums and other bummers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click to subscribe to Life Happens, Dude! and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Posts

Lou Lou Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


