Schmholidays

December 29, 2009 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

I made peace with Christmas and decided I should drop the whole nihilist deal on the most-anticipated holiday in the country since the Spanish introduced Catholicism and Jesus among the Filipinos leading them to abandon their paganistic practices of worshiping rocks and mammal turds.

To mark my reconciliation with Christmas, I gifted select friends hard-to-find literature I bought online and raffled out Christmas cakes at the annual college press alumni party.

In return, a friend gifted me a limited edition book on poetry, tankas and tales by renowned film director Marilou Diaz-Abaya. The book is entitled Moonlit Seasons and only a few copies shall be distributed in the market.

Ms. Diaz-Abaya even penned a dedication for moi (my gratitude to Joseph and Nick!)

mari

I met Ms. Diaz-Abaya’s rock band frontman/actor/MTV VJ son Marco (Marc) Abaya at an MTV event which I covered along with the college press team at the College of Saint Benilde. I came up to Marc–no shirt on and perspiring like heck–and reminded him that a small classroom shall serve as the press con room for the artists. Kindly, hugging his backpack to conceal his nakedness upon realizing I was there to stalk speak to him, he whispered, ‘OK, let me freshen up and I’ll be with you. Thank you, thank you.’

Sweetness.

♥ ♥ ♥

I downloaded Mozilla 3.5 and discovered the Personas add-on (www.getpersonas.com). Personas enables the user to ‘dress-up’ Firefox with free skins. So long braindead boring Mozilla default skin in blah colors.

Mine is the Speakercloud skin by artist Zeptonn:

zepyep

The downside: The tabs are practically invisible. Oh well. Sometimes, it makes one suffer to be one with cuteness.

♥ ♥ ♥

If anyone of you are interested to purchase Ms. Diaz-Abaya’s brilliant book Moonlit Seasons, let me know and I’ll hook you up with my friend Joseph whom the director is mentoring.

♥ ♥ ♥

It shall be 2010 soon and I am going: Shit. Shit. Shit.

Happy post-Christmas 🙂

Entry filed under: artnots, journals.

Wilted and faded somewhere in Hollywood Don’t switch the blade on the guy in shades, oh no

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click to subscribe to Life Happens, Dude! and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Posts

Lou Lou Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


