We are all made of stars

February 18, 2010 at 10:57 pm Leave a comment

I have the worst geekery enthusiast for a friend and he sent me a link to the official NASA website, a page he confesses to have subscribed to and which he checks on a daily basis.

I checked the site particularly on February 11th, my mother’s birthday, and the photograph of the day was the Star Cluster M34, which is, as explained by a NASA astronomer, an open cluster of stars the size of a Full Moon and which can be located in the constellation Perseus.

Cluster M34 courtesy of NASA

I look at this picture and I think: These beauties must be God’s inspiration for blue Argyle mine diamonds.

Suits my mother’s day perfectly perfect.

♥ ♥ ♥

I have been depriving myself of my meal staple: rice. Today is the 9th day and oddly enough, I don’t crave for this calorie-heavy, devil of a food. Been subsisting on vegetable soup alone and sometimes, I’d allow myself to have a little bit of sugar, which then I’d need to burn off by jogging-in-place on my bedroom rug, or by performing at least 50 squat thrusts in one go.

I am Private Benjamin at 10:00pm with my ass sweating bullets and my self-worth spiraling down the drain.

♥ ♥ ♥

My college film thesis ‘Sapatos’ starring Ping Medina (Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros) and Sheenly Vee Gener (who played the character ‘Insiang’ in the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ adaptation of Lino Brocka’s ‘Insiang’) –which I wrote and directed–is one of the finalists of Ateneo Video Open 2010 and shall be screened along with other finalists –mostly independently-produced films– on February 19, 2010 at Sandbox MyPlace, Katipunan Avenue, QC from 7:00-10:00pm.

‘Sapatos’ is also nominated for Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Acting

The Ateneo Video Open, now on its eleventh year, is an annual nationwide film competition open to collegiate-level filmmakers. It is organized by the Loyola Film Circle, the Ateneo de Manila University’s premiere film organization.

The event aims to highlight the effective use of aesthetically pleasing films as media for social discourse.

♥ ♥ ♥

Listening to Oxford Comma by Vampire Weekend

Entry filed under: artnots, film, journals.

Waking up from the dead Hellocho!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click to subscribe to Life Happens, Dude! and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Posts

Lou Lou Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


