Out of my element talk: Love

March 15, 2010 at 12:39 pm Leave a comment

Talk of love and sap is not exactly my forte and I stiffen up like a scared cat when obligated to write thoughts on the aforementioned subject. But with a promise of the longed-for singlehood in the horizon, I decided a[n] [honest] list of love wishes makes an appropriate blog entry. So here goes:

1. A 60 minute cuddle in utter silence. We often find ourselves in the middle of all variations of noise: human voices, the cacophony of bustling traffic and the general disquietude of everyday life. I imagine a dimly-lit room, a warm couch, perhaps Jeff Buckley crooning like a broken poet in the background and someone I tremendously like. No words, no gestures, just plain holding-one-another.
2. Little notes, just because. More than anything else, with the drama and hoopla of corporate life and quarter-life-crisis, thoughtful notes tucked in unexpected places should inspire me to hold out.

Clementine and Joel | Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind


(Okay, I can almost feel my brains bleeding out of my eyes but two more wishes should complete the list)

3. Getting lost. Globe-trotting is a plan I hope to nail before the dreaded 31. And hopefully with a gentleman of a date to carry my backpack for me. (OK, this one screams queen bee demand in neon light. And I’m laughing my head off.)

4. Commitment. Pretty much self-explanatory. Unless you’re a douche rag who shuns this 10-letter word. Oh, off with your head!

Ok. That’s all I can stomach for now. Apparently, I am no longer PMSing like a sleep-deprived soap opera star so sap is just a gut-turning topic. Ta-ta!

♥ ♥ ♥

I recently discovered Chef Chuck Hughes and with my heavy heart on tow, I look at him and he reminds me of a Jack Kerouac literature, a rockabilly dream come true.

Chef Chuck Hughes. Photo courtesy of Food Network Canada

Mister mister has a show on Asian Food Channel (for Manila residents with Sky subscription) entitled ‘Chuck’s Day Off’. A celebrity chef in Canada, Chuck trained at the Institut de tourisme et d’hôtellerie du Québec and in 2006, opened his first restaurant Garde-Manger with his two best friends.

Ok, enough said. I am positively seduced.

Entry filed under: journals, musings.

Pulling a Kerouac and failing at it Flavor of the day: Vanilla

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click to subscribe to Life Happens, Dude! and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Posts

Lou Lou Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


