Song scientist: The heartless romantic

March 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm 1 comment

Because I practically live a vanilla existence and inspiration–especially if you roost in a blah city–is scarce, I decided to come up with specialized topics that shall cover every single day of the week. And today is music Monday 😀

The song scientist thread is a post discussing contexts behind select songs. Today, I choose anti-love themes.

Anti-love themed songs, or faux love songs, are usually widely misinterpreted as love songs focused on mush, sap and the idealistic fairy-tale romance. But, alas, unknown to most of us, some music industry artists are much more imaginative than your usual Barbra Streisand equivalent crooning about necking under the rain and love at first sight (whether we like it or not, love in actuality is more complicated and convoluted than the idealistic idea of it). So here goes:

The One I Love, R.E.M. Released in 1987 as part of R.E.M.’s fifth album entitled Document, ‘The One I Love’ became an overnight anthem for love-stricken (and I should say painfully absent-minded) fools. The line which ensues ‘This one goes out to the one I love’ which illustrates a player in the relationship game using his ‘significant other’ as a ‘prop to occupy [his/her] time’ is a clear give-away that this R.E.M. chart-topper is a song about predatory love affairs. R.E.M Frontman Michael Stipe was even quoted in describing the song as ‘incredibly violent’.

[ Source ]

Miss You Love, Silverchair Written by Silverchair‘s Daniel Johns as a response to a depression-plagued phase in his life, the song describes the dispiriting state of apathy and indifference. Romantic, yes, if you are a blubbering emo with a noose fitted around your neck.

Crash Into Me, Dave Matthews Band Try muttering the line, ‘Hike up your skirt a little more, and show the world to me’ to a potential beau and expect a kick in the loins faster than you can finish saying the line. The brilliant Dave Matthews explained that the song is about a voyeur and his demented sexual attachment toward a woman he beholds from afar, thus the line ‘Oh I watch you there through the window, and I stare at you. You wear nothing but you wear it so well…’

[ Source ]

Now for the real love song no one really seriously considered a love song…

Losing My Religion, R.E.M Losing My Religion is anything at all but a song about marble saints and priests in chastity belts because this R.E.M classic is really a poetically sentimental account of unrequited love. The phrase ‘losing my religion’, originally a Southern expression meaning “At my wit’s end.”, was picked by R.E.M. frontman and song writer Michael Stipe to describe the deep water situation of people caught in the bitter pill of unreciprocated love. The line “I thought that I heard you laughing, I thought that I heard you sing. I think I thought I saw you try.” is about the obsessive fishing for hopeful signs in one’s object of affection’s every move and every word.

♥ ♥ ♥

I am withdrawing indefinitely from life. I am still hanging tough after a break-up and because it was my best friend in the whole world who I lost, letting go is still far in the horizon. Sadly, through all these, I am devoid of faith towards anything or anyone. I am incredibly overwhelmed and all I really want right now, more than anything else, is some ample alone-time to pause and really listen to myself.

To so-called friends, I’ll catch up with you when it’s all rainbows and butterflies again.

♥ ♥ ♥

because that is the nature of love, because one walks alone/ through the ruins of the heart, because the young must sleep/ with their eyes open, because the angels tremble/ from so much beauty, because memory moves in orbits/ of absence, because she holds her hands out in the rain,/ and rain remembers nothing, not even how it became itself. ~ Las Ruinas Del Corazon by Eric T. Gamalinda

Entry filed under: music, musings, thinking aloud.

John C. Mayer Manila concert: A recrap List of Lusts on a Tuesday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jam  |  March 23, 2010 at 9:35 am

    OMG I have always loved that Gamalinda quote! 🙂

    Don’t worry, Evil. We shall wait for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click to subscribe to Life Happens, Dude! and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Posts

Lou Lou Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


