We are all mad here!

May 5, 2010 at 5:49 pm Leave a comment

The Alexis Tioseco Internship Program means comprehensive film critiquing and curatorship lessons, weekly film-swapping with co-interns (today, I received Donnie Darko from Wham Alcazaren and in return, I’m allowing him the entire weekend to keep Fight Club because he has NEVER seen how David Fincher ultimately nailed it in this film. Next, a Fritz Lang masterpiece in exchange for Kubrick’s debut The Killing), discussions on cinema and film theories, archiving of vintage film posters at the University of the Philippines Film Institute and the opportunity to witness the deplorable condition of rotting vintage film reels at Mowelfund.

But ultimately, there are the Wednesday Socials.

The previous Wednesday was alloted for the New Expomic experimental film screening at Mag:Net Art Space then a two hour film discussion at Black Soup Art Space after. New Expomic screening featured experimental films produced by film majors of De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde School of Design and Arts, to which I am an alumnus.

The films featured tight shots of a lone turtle, a crayon painting in progress, a muse laying on a bed of beer bottles.

All right. So much for posing as a sincere film enthusiast. I just couldn’t wrap my stupid head around any of the experimental films screened (sorry, CSB SDA Film Dept).

Then we had to proceed to BlackSoup Art Space to meet up with filmmakers Ellen Ramos and Paolo Villaluna (Ilusyon, 2005 and Walang Hanggang Paalam, 2009 among others) and Anemahinasyon‘s Ricky Orellana for some important pointers on anything and everything cinema.

BlackSoup is an art space dedicated to good [vegan] food, conversations over coffee and cinema. They have a corner reserved for boxes of hard-to-find films. I was rummaging through the DVDs when I saw a copy of Strike (Stachka) by Sergei Eisenstein. I wanted to, right there and then, launch into a Mary Poppins’ Supercalifragilisticespialidocious song and kiss everyone.

[ Source ]

And then I realized I didn’t even have the cash to buy myself a decent cup of strong coffee. Pfft.

After the BlackSoup forum, I walked next door to Van Gogh is Bipolar Restaurant to where I was welcomed, barefoot, by its proprietor, filmmaker and artist Jetro Rafael.

Jetro offered me his special St. John’s Wort concoction in a puny porcelain tea cup and went on to discuss his motivation for establishing the restaurant. Jetro, just like Van Gogh, is bipolar and designed the mood-altering menu not primarily for profit but to suit his own personal needs.

I said I wanted to take a photograph of him and he insisted on a “candid” shot.

I promised a return. I wonder who I am returning with.

♥♥♥

Listening to Lust for Life by Iggy Pop ♫ ♪ ♫

Entry filed under: artnots, film, food.

Today is the first day of the rest of my life I wish I were into Dadaism with a toilet seat framed on my wall

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Click to subscribe to Life Happens, Dude! and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Posts

Lou Lou Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


